INTERPRETING THE BROOK THEATRE: Past, Present and Future

The Brook Theatre has been hidden away for almost a year, surrounded by scaffolding and white wrap while works were carried out including essential repairs, cleaning of the stonework and roof, improvements to the external lighting, and restoration of the three iconic clock faces. But the theatre is now back in full view, gleaming at the heart of Chatham and looking better than ever following an external facelift worth £415,000.

As one of Medway’s much-loved buildings, Medway Council felt it was important to maintain what is a central hub for entertainment, performing arts, creativity and community activities. This exhibition is intended to be in acknowledgement of that and is a celebration of the building’s history, its current life and what the future might bring.

This small, but lovingly curated exhibition has been co-ordinated by local artists Wendy Daws and Mark Barnes, in partnership with Medway Council’s Theatres and Arts Teams, with additional support from Medway Archive Centre. The exhibition will feature before and after photographs, archive images and documents, physical objects gathered during the building’s restoration, and community artwork created by members of Kent Association for the Blind art group, which responds to the beautiful and unusual features of the building.

Tuesday, 24 October – Saturday, 18 November - 10am - 5pm (some days the opening times will be extended, please call our Box Office team on 01634 338338 to double check)

Date and time details

Tuesday, 24 October – Saturday, 18 November

Contact info

01634 338338

Click to view all dates

All Dates

  • Tuesday, 24 October, 2017
  • Wednesday, 25 October, 2017
  • Thursday, 26 October, 2017
  • Friday, 27 October, 2017
  • Saturday, 28 October, 2017
  • Sunday, 29 October, 2017
  • Monday, 30 October, 2017
  • Tuesday, 31 October, 2017
  • Wednesday, 1 November, 2017
  • Thursday, 2 November, 2017
  • Friday, 3 November, 2017
  • Saturday, 4 November, 2017
  • Sunday, 5 November, 2017
  • Monday, 6 November, 2017
  • Tuesday, 7 November, 2017
  • Wednesday, 8 November, 2017
  • Thursday, 9 November, 2017
  • Friday, 10 November, 2017
  • Saturday, 11 November, 2017
  • Sunday, 12 November, 2017
  • Monday, 13 November, 2017
  • Tuesday, 14 November, 2017
  • Wednesday, 15 November, 2017
  • Thursday, 16 November, 2017
  • Friday, 17 November, 2017
  • Saturday, 18 November, 2017
  • Saturday, 18 November, 2017